An Atypical Day at Class

It started out as any normal day at class. As soon as I walked through the door, I got bombarded with my kids. Aye! Mister! What iz dis? (point to a truck. I swear, my kids speak better English than the 4th grade!) And then it got weird.

There were two teachers talking to each other about something serious. As one of the teachers left, the teacher that sits in with me filled me in with the details. One of my students stole some important documents and they were trying to figure out who. They asked the person who stole the documents to step forward. Not surprisingly, they didn’t. They asked anyone if they had any information. All we got were shrugging shoulders and “ne znam” (I don’t know). And then they called the police. Whoa, wait what?! Yep. They called the police. On seven six year olds. And, in typical Bulgarian fashion, they didn’t call 166. They called a family member. Not that this is a bad thing; it’s very typical. Most work gets done through friendships and family member–back channels. Since I’m friends with one of the mayor’s drivers, I occasionally get a lift around town, one of the teacher’s husbands is the postmaster and I no longer have to pay a fee for packages. I’m sure this is nothing new for any Peace Corps Volunteer integrated into their community. (also, it’s not like I just take, I do give back to these kind people).

Any way, back to the story. The kids, understandably, were quite concerned that the teacher had called the cops on them and were desperate to prove their innocence. They offered to have their bags and pockets searched. They looked under the cubbyholes, desks tables and chairs and implored each other to give up the important documents. Nothing was working. The teacher took one of my favorite kids (and the biggest trouble maker (you can’t really blame him, he’s six and has younger twin brothers a year old at home)) out of the classroom for further questioning. The lunch lady stood by the window, “I just saw a police car drive by…” I was starting to think that this was just a ploy to get the kids to turn over the documents.

With all the drama going on, I really didn’t have a good opportunity to actually teach. It was snack time and I had to fill out the teacher’s log of the lesson I didn’t teach. With the still mystery unsolved, the teacher pulled the massive book off the self (the book like like, 1 foot by 3 feet) and opened it up to the correct day. And that’s where the important documents were. None of the students had stolen them, they were just misplaced by one of the teachers. The kids, understandably were jubilant. Case solved!

Oh, and they were doctor’s notes excusing two students.

3 Responses to “An Atypical Day at Class”

  1. Tyler Wasson Says:

    Some explanation might be required for me to fully understand this sentence, “he’s six and has younger twin brothers a year old at home”

  2. Jimmy Says:

    Nikoli has younger twin brothers who are one year old and he is six years old.

  3. joe Says:

    “Doctor’s notes” .. Ahh memories…
    I can distinctly recall using quite a few of them in the course of strategic planning for several tough exams… Some of my classmates actually sold those.. until one day a guy submitted a note with the latin name for the diagnosis of being pregnant or stuff… what a shot in the leg.

Leave a Reply

