Dental Project

One of the projects I’ve been working on for a while has been to teach my kindergarten class proper dental hygiene. It hasn’t been easy. I’ve been shot down by lots of companies both in Bulgaria and international as well as several professional organizations. In the end, I just asked my dentist from the US and picked up a supply of trial-sized kid’s toothpaste and toothbrushes.

Dental hygiene doesn’t seem to be a high priority for many Bulgarians (purely from my observations) as I have seen several people with poor teeth. It’s usually the older generations, but the youth are no exception. Many kids have cavities in my class and there is at least one student whose baby teeth are rotting out. Hopefully, my project will stem the tide.

I partnered with a local dentist to teach this lesson (since my dental vocab is pretty limited).  We went over healthy foods, dental care and how often you should see a dentist. I covered more of the “how to” part of the lesson. I told them that it’s best to brush twice a day and for at least three minutes (play a song and brush for the length of it. Just don’t pick the Бяла Роза! (it’s like, 45 minutes long!))

Here’s to hoping they make a habit out of it!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

