Project Updates

Here’s what I’ve been up to and what I plan on doing:

Municipality: I haven’t been doing too much work with them at the moment since people in my office have been on vacation and the fact that the EU has withheld 3 Billion Euro of aid. This makes my job in the office of External Resources a bit harder… I’ll be scaling my presence in the office back some to work in other areas in Chirpan like

Kindergarten English classes: Tomorrow I start teaching the kindergarten class at Kliment Ohridski. The first day (or week!) will be fairly difficult since I’ve never taught English before and this will be the first time many of them will be away from home without their mom. Add to the mix an American guy butchering their language with a very distressed and confused look on his face. Funny/awkward stories are inveitable. Check back here to read about them.

The At-Risk Children’s Center: I’ve been wanting to work with them for a while and I finally got a meeting with the director. She is still very appreciative of the charity football tournament I organized for them back in April. We talked quite a bit and she asked me to be and English teacher/tutor for some of the kids. I eagerly agreed and I hope to expand this role. She even offered to introduce me to a British family that occasionally helps out. Next month I’ll be going with the Center on an excursion to Veliko Turnavo and helping out with some sort of Picnic (though I’m not sure when that is).

English Club: Over the summer it’s pretty much just been me hanging out with one or two teens and speaking English with them. Once the school year starts tomorrow, I hope to expand it some.

Dance: I’m still heavly involved with the Chirpan dance team. This season will be different since I’ll be teaching them English for an hour after each practice. I’ll be paid in beer and rakia. PC policy doesn’t say anything about recieve gifts for our help 🙂

Youth Conference?: I’ve spoken with my tutor and she’s interesting in organizing a youth conference next spring. I have no idea what it will be about or, well, pretty much everything. We’ll flesh it out this winter and see if it’s feasable.

Charity Football Tournament: It’s never too early to start working on next year’s event 😉

One Response to “Project Updates”

  1. thomas Says:

    how is it that when you pursue new work adventures you always get invited on trips?

Leave a Reply

