English, Baseball and Aura Cleansing

Yesterday I had an English group. It was more of one person than a group, but it was still good. He spent the last 10 or 11 days at the Black Sea at a Young Commandos camp. From what I understand, YC is like an ROTC program but they aren’t training to become officers. Kinda like a youth army. He told me there were kids as young as six there! They did standard military training stuff like obstical courses, etc. I don’t know if they used any fire arms.

We chatted about this and that. I showed him Missouri absentee ballot for the state wide election this fall. He asked me some questions about America (do all the high schools like the movies? Are there neighborhoods like “Desperate Housewives”?). After talking for about a hour, he invited me to his grandparents house. It was along the walk to the school and was a nice house. I met both his grandparents. His mother was there as well taking a break form work. They were all very kind to me. His grandmother offered us soda, nuts and bon boni and told me about Turkish yoke. I have no idea what provoked this topic and she went on to say how the Bulgarians were enslaved but the Bulgarians never enslaved anyone. It bit random.

My friend showed me his room when he stays at his grandparents and turned on the tv. He fliped through the channels and found NASI. To my surprise (and delight!) there was a baseball game on! I was so excited! I haven’t seen a ball game in almost a year! His mother came in with dinner; I certainly wasn’t expecting to be fed! We watched the game and I explained the rules (Toranto won). After a delightful time, we left. As I headed out the door, I noticed several people sitting in chairs in the courtyard and asked about them. He told me that his grandmother cleanses people’s aura! I asked if she was like a fortune teller but he was very against that terminology and does not predict the future, just helps people. The term he used was “Lekarshum”. A “lekar” (лекар) in Bulgarian is a doctor. I’ll have to ask what a “shum” is.

3 Responses to “English, Baseball and Aura Cleansing”

  1. gogo Says:

    “cleanses people’s aura”

    No offence Jim, but “fortune tellers” and “quacks” are the same everywhere. They just use people’s superstition for material gain. This kinda suckz. There was a show on TV about it (Gospodari na Efira – you can probably search vbox7. com for “lechiteli”), where the hosts exposed some such unscrupulous liers for what they really are. Like they were promising to cure cancer by rubbing an egg (?!) against the person’s body.

    I sometimes wonder… Are Bulgarians too dumb or are they just desperate to believe such cr%p? Then again, watching ppe make fools out of themselves is quite entertaining sometimes. Cruel but true.

    p.s. I want to point out that I in no way claim that the old lady in your story was one of those thieves. On the contrary, since she’s an old person, she’s probably harmless and really believes what she’s doing. I just wrote that because the expression “cleanses people’s aura” struck me : )))))

  2. Jimmy Says:

    I agree with your comment about fortune tellers in general. However some people genuinely believe they have a gift and try to use it for good. I asked for more details about a “Lekarshum” and I found out they’re more like a pyshcotherapist, someone you can talk to about problems. There is a pyschological trick where you try put all your worries and trouble onto an object. I know Native Americans here have something similar. I have no idea if it works or not. My friend told me that his grandmother does not charge anything for her services but accepts any type of donation.

    I wouldn’t say that Bulgarians are “dumb or desperate to believe such cr%p”. Americans seek out fortune tellers, call psychic hotlines and use tarot cards. I would have to say it’s a search for answers from a being greater than one’s self. I wrote about this since I’ve heard about their popularity and I actually got to meet one. It’s another interaction with Bulgarian superstition, much like this: https://jimmybulgaria.wordpress.com/2007/11/16/my-dance-teacher-saved-my-life/

    Supersitions are a part of every culture.

  3. gogo Says:

    Just 2 words come to mind: “common sense”. That’s one of the most important things I learnt from getting to know America. Most people are very practical, which I find comforting and good.

    What we have here, though, is exactly 2 types of people.

    1) I can talk with your dead relatives. Ohhhh yes, I hear them. Bum bum – somebody’s knocking on the door … ooooohh scary. (At this point the woman’s nephew yawns and moves away from the door to sit and drink some more rakia). “Of course, I don’t generally take payment, but you’ll probably come across as an ungrateful sonuva%%% if you don’t give me something… You get the idea.
    2) And then there’re ppe like some of those Native Americans. In no way bragging or showing off their talants. Having a true _psychological_ gift, knowing herbs. Just normal ordinary people who want to help. Not some unscrupulous bombastic liers.

    It’s common sense that actually makes the whole difference between the two. Most of them will try to trick you, oh yes, they will employ every possible tactics known to man (or woman since most of those wannabes are women) to make you not ruin their lucrative business! But then again, if you’re just that bit more clever than them, you might end up having a sad smile, and ruining the day of those good-for-nothings playing with people’s loss and grief.

    And one last note – my experience in Bulgaria so far has shown me that the first kind are so wildly spread throughout Bulgaria that they’re actually smothering the second kind, which is almost extant by now. This is not acceptable. I must admit I’d do anything in my powers to denounce a fake. Especially when there’s many people who trust that fake and let em get away with it.

Leave a Reply

