Europe Day

Today is Europe Day. I just found that out. I had no idea what Europe Day  was until I looked it up on the internets. Simply put, “Europe Day” is when the European Union was created. However, in Bulgaria and other former Eastern Bloc Countries, May 9th is also Victory Day, the end of the Second World War. This explains why there hasn’t been much working on today (and why this is my 4th post today). It’s the fourth holiday I’ve had so far this month. (1st- Labor Day (Ден на Труда), 4th- Low Sunday (Томина Неделя) 6th- St. George’s Day (Гергьовден), 9th- Europe Day (Европейски Ден)). I’m not really sure what one does on Europe Day but if other Bulgarian holidays are any indication, it will involve alcohol. And Lots of it. The other holidays I have coming up this month are: 11th- St. Cyrill and St. Methodius‘ Feast day (Св. Св. Кирил и Методий ден, the founders of the Cyrillic alphabet) 24th The Cyrillic alphabet day (Ден на Българската просвета и култура и на славянската писменост. I’m not sure why this has to be a separate holiday from the 11th. I’m also told that there are a lot of graduations on this day). 21st- St. Constantine and Helena’s feast day (Св. Св. Константин и Елана Ден. I have no idea why this is celebrated but I’m sure I’ll find out soon enough).

Leave a Reply

