Project Update

Here is where my current projects stand:

Charity Football (Soccer) Tournament:
The tournament is less than two weeks away! I have nine confirmed teams and possibly more on the way. I’m excited about this high turnout. I got to thinking about it and then started to panic. Where the heck am I going to put the copious amounts of PCVs in my apartment!? Thankfully, my site mate is opening her apartment and my colleagues called the local hotel to figure out the rates (20Lv for a night, 28LV for a double). I also asked about the hija (хижа-hut) which is owned by the municipality to see if some could spend the night there. We went to one of the vice mayor’s office to ask. She said we could and called one of the drivers to take us there so I could see it for myself. I attempted to dazzle her my Bulgarian skills and ask her if she would be at the tournament. I got a “Kakvo?” (what?) in response. My colleague asked her “Axxx! Дa, ще бъдa тaм! (Ahhhh! Yes! I’ll be there!).

We headed outside and my friend Peter, the driver, was waiting for us. We climbed in and jetted out of the city limits to the hija. We chatted along the way. He was very interested in what my uncle and brother thought of Bulgaria. We arrived in a lovely wooded area and hopped out. The hija was a nice, alibeit slightly rundown place. My colleague lent me the municipal camera and I took these photos:


The exterior. That’s Peter and Piyo (the security guard)


Dining hall


Piyo, the friendly security and his dog, Billy.

I just hope the weather cooperates. I’m really looking forward to it. If you’re interested in coming, don’t hesitate to drop me a line (there’s still time!) Wall(dot)JamesL(at)gmail(dot)com.

Hospital Infrastructure Renovation:
I’ve been slacking a bit on this project because I’ve been distracted with the football tournament. But since most of that is falling into place, I’ve had more time to work on this. Today I sent a letter to the World Bank and the World Health Organization (WHO) for their help or to at least point me in the right direction. I was doing some research for alternative ideas and I stumbled across the EEA (European Economic Area. It’s a fund supported by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) which looks like just the thing I need for my project. However didja see the due date? Yea, April, 25th. I’m kinda freakin’ out on that. So much so, that when I was walking to my tutoring, I cursed under my breath. If only I had been more diligent with my research I would have found it sooner. My tutor asked me how I was doing so I told her about this grant proposal. Without hesitation, she asked “What can I do to help?”. My tutor is fantastic. Her family owns a hardware store and knows several construction workers. She told me to get a list of the building materials needed for the renovation and she would be able to put a budget together for me. My tutor is phenomenal. I’ll be working on this grant overtime. I really hope I can get it completed in time. Worse comes to worse, we’ll have a grant proposal we can shop around. Oh, and my tutor is going to help me buy a TV tomorrow. I have discovered a guilty pleasure when I visit PCVs who have a TV: MTV’s My Super Sweet Sixteen. It’s great, mostly because it makes me appreciate who I am: the complete antithesis of the stars of the show. I feel sorry for them, that they are so trapped an enamored with fleeting materialistic things.

Leave a Reply

