Women’s Day

Tomorrow is the Bulgarian equivalent of Mother’s Day. The only difference is every women celebrates it, regardless if they have children or not. I’m a little hazy on the details of what you’re supposed to do on this day. From my observations today, men give their female co-workers flowers. I followed suit and all the ladies in my office greatly appreciated. I think they were also a little surprised I was aware of the holiday. I also gave a Carnation to my baba. She was so grateful (and surprised) with the flower. She gave me a banana in return. I tried to turn it down, telling her it was my pleasure to give her one but she would have none of it. I went out to lunch with my site mate (also know as “The World’s Best Site Mate” and “The Irreplaceable Site Mate”)  and gave her a Carnation as well.

This evening, the Municipality threw a party to celebrate all the female workers. They were all given flowers in appreciation. We ate traditional Bulgarian food, drank and danced the night away. Still unable to compete with Bulgarian party-goers, I left a little before midnight. I don’t know how they do it!

As far as I know, this all there is to Women’s Day. Either way, it’s nice to recognize all the women I work and socialize with. However, I’m glad this didn’t fall on a night I had dance practice as it would have been an expensive holiday!

Leave a Reply

