Athlete’s Dinner, etc

Written on 27/01/08

Sorry I haven’t been posting on my blog recently. I’ve been out sick. It came out of nowhere and kept me in my apartment for most of the week. But without further ado, here’s what I’ve been up to (sans sickness)

The athlete’s dinner was a chance for the city to recognize the best student athletes in the municipality as well as their coaches. The evening was full of student musical performances and awarding athletes. All the athletes who were recognized received a gift bag. Some of them had a football (soccer ball) in them. When they returned to their table, all of the other kids enviously gazed at their friend’s new possession.

The whole ceremony lasted about an hour and a half. At the end, all the students left accompanied by their parents. I sat at my table wondering what was going on. Cake and soda were provided on each of the tables and I thought it was a bit odd that I would be leaving a social event without sitting around for long hours and offered alcohol.

I must be integrating well because as I stood up to leave, my friend, the “sports minister” called out to me “Jimmy! Come sit over here, next to me”. We sat at a large table, with just men. They talked about sports and I just listened. They passed around two bottles of whiskey. I told the SM that I was thankful he plugged the charity tournament. He told me we have a date now, April 12th. After chatting with him and some of the other men around the table, I left.

Leave a Reply

