90 days

As of the 18th of January, I have been a Peace Corps Volunteer for three months and have been living in Bulgaria for six. I cannot believe how fast time has flown by.  It’s had it’s ups and downs but I feel like I’m starting to get things accomplished. Joining the Peace Corps is one of the best things I’ve done. The medical survey is now finished and the coverletter printed with the municipality’s crest. It should be sent out very soon. I hope to get a good idea what problems these medical centers face so the department I work with, the Department of External Resources, can write more informed grants.

Coming into work today, I was greeted by several people. All asking how my weekend was and reminding me that the athlete’s dinner is tonight. It felt good having people wanting to know how I’m doing and trying to include me in important events. I feel that if this is my situation in only three months, I cannot imagine how attached I will be to my town by the end of my service. Chirpan is a wonderful town and I work with magnificent people.

The weather has gotten warmer and the snow is starting to melt. This of course means I have water running down my kitchen walls again. However, this also means I don’t have to run the heater in the night and I don’t have the serious risk of slipping on the ice on the way to work. AND the sun is out! I haven’t seen it in about a month. It’s supposed to get up to 50 F (10 C) tomorrow. I can’t wait! Hopefully it stays like this.

 That’s more or less it for now. I’ll post about my dinner tonight as well as photos.

Tags:

One Response to “90 days”

  1. R Says:

    I’ve been reading several of the blogs for PCVs in Bulgaria. Nice to read how things are going and how you all post the ups and downs. My wife and I have been thinking about PCV-ing but still have two years left on our graduate degrees before deciding one way or the other. Anyhow, thanks for sharing your stories.

Leave a Reply

