Project Update, etc

The survey is generating a lot of interest and input. They want to include dental care. This is great and I hope to get them sent out by the end of the week. The cover letter is also coming along well however my Bulgarian translations need some work…

There has been a lady who comes into the office frequently to use our phone (don’t know why). She was in here for a long time and I could hear her talking about my survey, though we have never been properly introduced. When she came in today to use the phone, I offered her a ginger snap from a package I got from my mom today. We then had a long chat, mostly about how hard Bulgarian is and the weather in St. Louis. She was impressed that I could could speak as well as I did and laughed when I said the hardest part about Bulgarian was shaking your head for “yes”.

Shortly after she left, another woman came into the office. She came specifically to invite me to a dinner next Monday. Word has gotten out that I’m putting together this charity football tournament. I think the dinner is to honor the graduating students from a sports school. Though I’m not really sure. At the very least, it will be a dinner honoring students at a sports academy. It’s one of the hold overs from Communism. There are still several sports academies around the country where students practice their chosen sport and have academics around it.

Anyway, I had no idea who the woman was but she clearly knew me. Feeling that this would be a great opportunity to advertise my football tournament, I needed to have another meeting with the “sports minister” (it’s not his full time job, but everyone talks to him about sport related ideas). That meeting was very impromptu but I got the dates narrowed down. The tournament will be on either the 5th or the 12th of April (depending on the schedule of the field). The BIG news however, is the municipality to fund the whole thing! I’m so excited! We’re going to get professional referees and actual medals! It will be 4 on 4 with teams of 5. More details will follow once I get things hammered out. (If you’re interested in coming, just drop me a line at Wall.JamesL (at) gmail (dot) com)


Later, I had a long conversation (all in Bulgarian) about the US electoral system and how the two parties chose their candidates. I have no idea what he understood other than it’s a complicated system. He was very interested and knew all of the candidates names. I was curious as to what they did before they ran for president as well as what state they are from. (She is from New York and was a lawyer, he is from North Carolina and was a lawyer, he is from Illinois and was a lawyer, he is from New York and was a lawyer…). He was also fascinated about the order of states for their primaries and caucuses (I’m glad he didn’t ask me why Iowa/New Hampshire are first. My answer would have probably been “it’s a stupid system and it doesn’t make sense”).

The weather has gotten warmer. It rained (!?) last night, making everything nice and slick. However, when I woke up this morning, it was snowing. I like falling snow, just not the aftermath. Now there’s a lot of slush and it seems like everything is melting. This can make it hazardous to walk under trees. Because you can, like I did, get clobbered with a large chuck of ice, cleverly disguised as snow.

I also got some packages from home. My grandparents sent me a KU championship t-shirt (that has made Derick very envious). My co-workers were very interested in it. I don’t think they had ever seen a football player before. My parents also sent some birthday presents. Customs labels kinda take the surprise out of it… Thanks so much for your thoughtfulness!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

