Politics

We still have some political turmoil here in Chirpan, but it’s on the verge of getting resolved. The challenger briefly occupied the office of the former mayor, forcing him to take an office across the hall. Each mayor set up their own Christmas tree in the city center. When I returned from the winter break, I noticed that the re-elected mayor was back in his office. This time, his name was on a piece of paper, bolded for everyone to see. I learned that the case here is now being heard by the Bulgarian supreme court (I assume it’s the supreme court because why else would “the court in Sofia” want to hear about an electoral dispute in a small city?). The court ruling is expected to be handed down this upcoming Monday. If the court overturns the lower court’s decision, then the re-elected mayor will stay in office. However, if the court uphold the decision, then we have to have another election. A do-over, if you will, in two to three months. If that’s the case, I hope it goes off without a hitch. Though it would be kinda funny to spend my two years working in a municipality without a mayor.


Because of the political situation, my co-workers told me to go home (at least, I think it’s because of the political atmosphere. I’m not sure). So after I finished working on the cover letter for the survey, I left the office. I wasn’t really in the mood to cook lunch, so ate out. After eating some tasty Sicilian spaghetti and bumping into some friends at the restaurant, I went grocery shopping for dinner. I’m planning on making some stir fry so I bought some rice and soy sauce. I remembered checking out that I need some more razor blades. I asked the lady for a box. She asked me if I wanted one or four. Confused, I told her I wanted a box of four. This was the first time I bought blades in Bulgaria. Little did I know it is standard practice to take razor blades out of the box and sell them individually. I spent 14.80 lv for four blades. This is more than my daily stipend. I can absorb this expense but it was an unpleasant surprise. I tell myself that I would have had to buy them eventually. At least I’ll have a smooth face, right?

With the snow and ice, school has been canceled for the week. The roads and sidewalks are covered with thick ice. It’s a miracle that I haven’t broken my leg yet. I think that if I were to break my leg now, the Peace Corps would send me home. We are given 45 days to recuperate from medical incidents. However, this being the dead of winter and the vast amount of snow and ice, I highly doubt the PC will keep me in Bulgaria while on crutches. Just gotta be sensible while out and about.

Now working from home on my medical center project, keeping you up-to-date and steady making progress on the box of See’s Candy Ashley’s parents kindly sent me. Thanks again!

До по-късен
(until later)
One Response to “Politics”

  1. Thomas Says:

    They tried to pull that pricing trick on me in Sandanski. I thought I was buying cheap 3 packs of silverware, but it turned out that the price on the package was the price for one. When the total came up around 13 lev, there was a confusing exchange, and I left the store without buying anything. The whole individually priced items in packages of greater numbers is definitely not American friendly.

Leave a Reply

